May 5, 2024

UK Local Elections Summary

Key takeaways from the 2024 UK local elections
What you need to know
The Announcements
Research, Tracking, Engaging Made Smarter
Easy to use tools to uncover risk, track issues and report your engagement
Thanks for getting in touch. Redirecting you now...
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Everything you need to know about the 2024 UK local elections:

  • Sadiq Khan (Labour) was re-elected as Mayor of London for a record third term with a swing of 3.2%.
  • The Conservative Party lost 397 councillors.
  • Labour gained at least 232 councillors, the Liberal Democrats 98, and the Green Party 64.
  • Incumbent West Midlands Mayor Andy Street (Conservative) was defeated by Richard Parker (Labour).
  • Labour won 10 of the 11 mayoral contests up for election.
  • Ben Houchen (Conservative) held on as Mayor of the Tees Valley on a reduced majority, providing some relief for Prime Minister Rishi Sunak.
  • Labour had been hoping to achieve a clean sweep of the 11 mayoral contests, a result that would've emboldened Sunak's internal opponents.
  • The result still marks the worst local election result in decades for the Conservative Party.
  • Despite this, Professor Michael Thrasher projects that if these results were replicated in the General Election, Labour would still fall short of a Commons majority.
  • Manchester Mayor Andy Burnham (Labour) won a thumping majority with 63.4% of the vote.
  • Labour won 11 of the 37 Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) elections off the Conservatives.
  • Plaid Cmyru's Dafydd Llywelyn retained their one PCC position in Wales.
  • Labour's Chris Webb won the Blackpool South by-election with the third largest Conservative to Labour by-election swing since the Second World War.

Lord Houchen - re-elected as Mayor of Tees Valley

Mayoral Contests


Previous mayor: Sadiq Khan (Labour)

Elected mayor: Sadiq Khan (Labour)

East Midlands

Previous mayor: New position

Elected mayor: Claire Ward (Labour)

Greater Manchester

Previous mayor: Andy Burnham (Labour Co-op)

Elected mayor: Andy Burnham (Labour Co-op)

Liverpool City Region

Previous mayor: Steve Rotheram (Labour)

Elected mayor: Steve Rotheram (Labour)

North East

Previous mayor: New position

Elected mayor: Kim McGuinness (Labour)

South Yorkshire

Previous mayor: Oliver Coppard (Labour Co-op)

Elected mayor: Oliver Coppard (Labour Co-op)

Tees Valley

Previous mayor: Ben Houchen (Conservative)

Elected mayor: Ben Houchen (Conservative)

West Midlands

Previous mayor: Andy Street (Conservative)

Elected mayor: Richard Parker

West Yorkshire

Previous mayor: Tracy Brabin (Labour Co-op)

Elected mayor: Tracy Brabin (Labour Co-op)

York and North Yorkshire

Previous mayor: New position

Elected mayor: David Skaith (Labour)


Previous mayor: Paul Dennett (Labour)

Elected mayor: Paul Dennett (Labour)

Council Elections


1,158 (+232)

Liberal Democrats

522 (+98)


515 (-397)




2 (-1)


283 (-21)

Police and Crime Commissioners









Plaid Cmyru


Sadiq Khan wins a record third term

Our website stores cookies on your device and discloses information in accordance with our Cookie Policy. Choose “Customise Settings” to control cookies. We may collect certain aggregate and anonymised data from your browser independent of your cookie preferences. Cookie Policy